Uploads and Storage
Once you sign up for Uploadcare, you get the ability to manage your projects. Simply put, projects are separate environments holding sets of settings and files. Every Uploadcare Upload API client such as File Uploader knows which project it works with via the Public API Key you specify in the settings.
There are two basic workflows when uploading files to Uploadcare:
- Uploaded files will sit in your project permanently; this is called “Auto file storing.”
- Uploaded files will be kept in your account for 24 hours and then get deleted.
On Uploadcare, every permanent file is called “stored,” hence making a file permanent is called “storing.” The second workflow allows storing individual files by making an API Request.
By default, every project on your dashboard comes with the “Auto file storing” option enabled. This way you can seamlessly use our File Uploader without having to make store requests: every file uploaded via the widget gets stored in your Uploadcare project defined by the set public key.
When you disable “Auto file storing” for a project, every file that goes there gets deleted after a 24-hour period. This could be useful when there is no need for your app to keep every uploaded file that takes up your account storage.
To store a file, you will need to make a separate server-side API call. Such requests should be made after a form implementing file uploads gets submitted.
You can also have the master “Auto file storing” setting enabled in a project and still not store files sent by a specific widget instance. This behavior is carried out via implementing the
data-do-not-store widget option.