autostore is by default enabled in every Uploadcare project settings. It is there to let you seamlessly use the widget without having to use manual store requests: our REST API. When enabled, every uploaded file gets stored in your Uploadcare project defined by the public key you use with the widget.
Otherwise, uploaded files are deleted after a 24-hour period. This could be useful when there is no need for your app to keep every uploaded file that takes up your account storage. In this case, you will need to make a separate server-side API call to store each file. Such requests should be made after a form holding a list of uploaded files is submitted.
There also is a special case when
autostore is enabled in your project settings, but you still don’t want to store files uploaded by a specific widget. Here’s a special widget option for that.